Reality Check to Myself

God-Is-Enough-LessonsLearntJournal-2-795257_640x480

My satisfaction, joy, and hope are found in Christ alone. It’s not found in any person, place, or thing on this earth.

I get so discouraged, depressed, and my self-esteem goes to about a -500 when Ryan and I fight, when I get a bad grade, when something doesn’t go the way I expected, when I don’t get to do something I really wanted to do. When I get let down in any way at all.

But my satisfaction, joy, and hope don’t rely on those things. Ever. I’m not satisfied by Ryan or school or my friends or church or anything else. It’s only done through Christ and what He did on the cross. The things mentioned have the capabilities of making me happy and they do, but they still let me down a lot. It’s okay that they let me down, though, because they do not define my joy. They do not satisfy my soul.

I put so many expectations on other people and other things that I fail to accept God as the only one who can supply every need and provide everlasting hope. I can’t rely on people who mess up just as much as I do to provide the things that only  God can.

I’m so thankful for that.

I have someone who is always there for me regardless of what happens while I’m here. The bad days or silly disappointments don’t matter because God’s plan goes beyond that. God has a specific plan for my life that’s ultimate goal is to further His kingdom. In addition to Him holding my whole life in His hands, I’m guaranteed eternity with Him in Heaven. He offers so much more than anything of this world can. That’s why my satisfaction is found in God alone.

I’m thankful He provides others to bring laughter and happiness. But I’m even more thankful that He’s always there with infinitely more regardless of how often those people and things let me down.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.” Romans 15:13

Leave a Reply

