To the boyfriend who lost a parent too soon. 

benchman

I’m sorry I don’t always know what to say when you’re upset.

I’m sorry I can’t understand the heart break you continuously go through.

I’m sorry the holidays are so hard for you and you can’t feel the joy and celebration you long for.

I’m sorry I came into your life too late to meet your dad.

I’m sorry he’s not here to see how hard of a worker you are and how much you’ve accomplished.

I’m sorry you feel alone and I can’t always make you feel otherwise.

I’m sorry that “I’m sorry” doesn’t heal the wounds.

I’m sorry for every life event that won’t be the same without him.

I’m sorry no one will ever be able to take his place.

I love you immensely. I know that life is hard. I know that it’s not fair. I hate that you’re heart broken. I hate it. I feel it too when you’re hurting. I know I’ll never feel it like you do but I promise that everything will be okay one day. Even if it’s not today or tomorrow. I promise that I’ll do everything I can to help you get through the hard times and I promise I’ll never leave you alone.

Your dad would be so proud of you. I know that because I’m so proud of you. I wish I could have known him and I hope you can tell me more about him when you’re able to. But for now, I want you to rest in all of the good times you had together. Celebrate when you know he would be celebrating. Laugh at the same jokes he would laugh at. And rest in knowing that you’ll see him again. That’s been promised to you and it’s something you can look forward to.  I can’t wait to meet him too.

Be strong and brave.

But it’s always okay to cry.

-mjm

One thought on “To the boyfriend who lost a parent too soon. ”

Leave a Reply

